ACTIVATE YOUR FAITH, NOT FEAR.

No one can ever make you feel inferior unless you allow them to” . Eleanor Roosevelt

Just the other day, I was called for an interview where they made my fear come to life. My educational background is communication but writing is not my forte. I don’t know why people have this notion that just because you are in communication you should know how to write,  be excellent in public speaking, you should be a journalist etc. If you are one of those people, I am sorry but I have to break your bubble. Communication, just as life, has so many roles that one is either good at or poor at. My strengths may lie in interpersonal communication, negotiation skills, editing, PR but writing may not be my specialty.   Let’s say as a guy, you may be good at making business deals but not good at closing the deal with a chic. Also, You may be good at making small talks and be very social but not good at making a work presentation.  That is just life but you make it what you want it to be.

Anyway, where was I, oh yes the interview. So they pretty much wanted someone who had good writing skills. I felt ambushed both emotionally and spiritually. Emotionally by the interviewers because the way they spoke and judged me by educational background made me feel inadequate and that I was really ‘stupid’ and spiritually because God knows very well that I am looking for a job and that writing has never been my strong point so how could He let me be called to an interview that will just make me feel inferior. …yes this was my FEAR talking.

After the interview which left me angry, bitter and frustrated, my mind started pondering on some questions like why did God put me in this situation? Why did I fear writing? Why do we fear?  According to the bible, FEAR is opposite of faith, not trusting God.  We fear and become very anxious when:

  • We are faced with situations that we believe we cannot handle.
  • You feel that you are inadequate in that area and don’t want people to know
  • You are scared of being judged or criticized
  • When you don’t want to make a mistake
  • You are always trying to please people
  • You don’t want o fail

Yes I agree we all have shortcomings but as a believer, God’s precious child, this should not be an excuse of not wanting to face life’s challenges. Joshua was given the task to lead the Israelites to the promised land but he was filled with so much fear because he felt he won’t measure up to Moses. I mean he was going to a place that was occupied with other powerful nations and he didn’t believe he could conquer it and probably because of most of the above reasons. But the Lord in  Joshua 1:5,9 told him” Joshua no one will be able to defeat you as long as I live, I will always be with you, I will always be with you, I will never leave you nor forsake you”. Verse 9 “, I have commanded you to be confident and determined. Don’t be discouraged or afraid for I the Lord your God am with you wherever you go”.

Please take note of how the Lord repeated I will never leave you nor forsake you. God promises that wherever you go, no matter what you are doing He will always be with you whether it’s in that interview, in that presentation, in that project, in that exam, in that vision and dream.   Your destiny is in God’s hands not the opinion of someone or circumstances. Don’t let the enemy fill your mind with negative thoughts.

My goal this year is to “show up” in everything I do and give it my best.  I have to be brave and courageous. I am the child of God, heiress to His kingdom. I mean when the Lord died on that cross, He died for and with all my sins, weaknesses, embarrassment, failures. He rose up to give me hope. Hope that I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.  Hope that I have the power of the Holy Spirit in me to do everything for His glory. He told me to trust Him and never be discouraged. He has promised that even if fall , I will not stay down because He will help me up. His strength is made perfect in my weakness. So why am I anxious and afraid??.

Friends, God gave you a sound mind not a spirit of fear and anxiety. He wants you to believe that He loves you and cares for you that all things He does in your life works for your own good.  He will never give you something that He knows you cannot handle. He wouldn’t let you get that job if you knew that you can’t make a presentation or complete a project, He wouldn’t let you meet that guy/ chic if He knew that you can’t handle the pressure that come with that relationship, He wouldn’t let you go through 4 years or 6 years of University if He knew that you wouldn’t be able to handle the responsibility of that job. God actually wants us to embrace challenges and face our fears because He knows that you cannot do it on your own and you will need His help. Look at me, I was always scared of writing and putting my thoughts into words but today I start to write a blog and sharing it with my friends. It’s not great but I believe that it will touch even if it’s one person. Activate your faith, not your fear. Start everyday with positive words about your life. Think of all the great things that are happening in your life.

He is the most Kind, merciful, non judgmental, caring person you can ever meet. So today I challenge you to look at that thing that you have always been struggling with, that thing that makes your stomach make flip-flops by just the thought of doing it and DO IT. Put God to the test and see how He will make all the fear go away. God is able, trust and depend only on Him. Don’t let your life be a mediocre, SHOW UP.  Friends you are destined for greatness!!! Everyday before you let your feet touch the floor, tell yourself” I am filled with God’s greatness; I expect God’s favour today that everything I touch and anyone I talk to will be great.

Jeremiah 29 :11 for I have a plan for you,. A plan for prosperity and not despair. A plan for future and Hope GOD is GREAT!!

Be blessed,

Lori.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bettyabuya
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 15:23:07

    thank you honey.. i feel inspired to activate my faith. i believe God will never give me something i cannot handle..

    Reply

    • loriabuya
      Apr 02, 2012 @ 16:02:28

      you are very welcome and thank you for following my blog. Yes we are serving the most high God who loves, inspires, strengthens and make you be the best you can be.xoxoxo!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

